There are no active ads.

Advertisement

TrendingCoronavirus

Alex Ross Marvel Comics Poster Book review – Stunning

by Brian Warshaw | May 2, 2021May 2, 2021 1:15 pm EDT

Alex Ross is an icon in the comics industry. He’s had a storied career working at both major publishers (as well as a few others), but when you factor in his cover work, he’s probably done the most at Marvel. And when you consider that they commissioned him to paint what would become a massive mural at Marvel HQ, it’s fair to say he’s just a little bit more significant to the House of Ideas.

Advertisement

And speaking of that mural, Abrams ComicArts has just released the gorgeous, oversized The Alex Ross Marvel Comics Poster Book, a gorgeous, 11×16 book packed with removable prints of each character from the mural. They were good enough to supply The Nerdy with a copy, so we’ve been enjoying the art and considering what we think about this thing overall.

Refreshingly simple

This book is pretty much exactly what it says on the cover: a poster book. Each poster has a little bit of info and reflections from Ross on the character. There’s an introduction talking about the mural. There’s a foldout poster of the entire mural. That’s it—and that’s all you need. An artist like Ross says plenty with his work.

From a stylistic perspective, we love having these iconic characters presented on stark white backgrounds. Ross’s stunning takes are accentuated by the absence of background distractions, and for that, we’re grateful.

Beautifully big

If you’ve ever bought prints at a convention, then we think you’ll be very pleased with the large format. These paintings deserve to be seen as large as you can get them, and for the average home, 11×16 is pretty big. They look great in my cheap black frames, too:

Incredibly affordable

Prints at a convention will generally cost you $20 or more a piece. But this book—which retails for $22—has THIRTY-FIVE high-quality, glossy prints from one of the most top-tier of all the top-tier comic artists in the world. That’s a fantastic deal, and a great way to get some of your favorite characters on the wall without breaking the bank.

Overall

With plenty of gorgeous Alex Ross art, the huge format, and a very reasonable price, The Alex Ross Marvel Comics Poster Book is a no-brainer for fans of Alex Ross and Marvel. You can find it at Amazon and other booksellers now.

Disclaimer: Abrams ComicArts provided us with a copy of The Alex Ross Marvel Comics Poster Book for the purposes of this review.


Fun Jug Media, LLC (operating TheNerdy.com) has affiliate partnerships with various companies. These do not at any time have any influence on the editorial content of The Nerdy. Fun Jug Media LLC may earn a commission from these links.


Advertisement